RSS

Naturally fresh Dusting clothes

07 May
Naturally fresh dusting clothes

Lemon Dusting Clothes

I am on the search to find more natural air fresheners and cleaners for my home and family ( I found this one on Pintrest 🙂  ). No, despite what some might think I am not going crazy and turning my life upside down (although that might not be to bad). I am just trying to find little things here and there that might make the quality of life a little bit better and maybe just a little bit easier as well.

These lemon dust cloths are all natural and take just minutes to prepare.They can be stored in an airtight jar until you’re ready to use them. Sometimes dusting with a dry cloth just  moves the dirt around instead of catching it. These cloths are damp and infused with vinegar to help catch and kill the bugs at the same time. The addition of olive oil and lemon rind bring a soft polish to your furniture.

It is pretty easy, all you need is ….

  • 2  Dusting Clothes ( I prefer the microfiber texture for cleaning and found a 3pk for $2 at $ Store, I kept my 3rd one for cleaning the windows)
  • 1 cup Vinegar
  • 1 cup Water
  • 1 tsp. Olive oil (or orange oil sounds like it could be good too)
  • 1 lemon Rind
  • Glass jar with lid

Mix Vinegar, water and Olive Oil.

Soak rags in solution and ring out till damp dry.

Alternate rinds with rags in a jar and seal tightly till ready to use.

I kept the used solution in a different jar to make one more batch after I have used my clothes several times, it makes plenty).

That’s it. Hope you love this one as much as I do. If you have any natural cleaners or idea that are quick or work wonders let me know. I love to try new things!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2013 in Cleaning fun

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Naturally fresh Dusting clothes

  1. Sara Menashe

    June 24, 2013 at 2:58 am

    I want to thank you for sharing this and all your other ideas! I just wonder if the lemon rind molded while in the jar? Thanks so much!

     
    • Proverbs31mom

      January 14, 2016 at 1:41 pm

      Great question Sara! I find that I use mine so often that it doesn’t really have time to mold. I did however let the rags sit in the jar by themselves (still damp from the solution) and after about 6 weeks I noticed a little fuzz growing. I suggest washing and refreshing the solution once in awhile to make sure everything stays fresh 🙂

       
  2. Proverbs31mom

    June 24, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    Hey Sara, thanks for stopping by. Glad you liked this idea and you had a good question. My lemon rinds did not mold but I change them out every month or so. I did recently see a recipe that was like this but they lightly sprinkled salt on the lemon rind and let sit for a few minutes before putting in the jar. They said that it helped pull out the oils in the rind but I bet it would also help preserve the rind for awhile longer. I have used these for awhile now and absolutely love them but my next batch I might try the salt. Glad you asked! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
